What is the Housing Choice Voucher Program?

The Housing Choice Voucher Program (a.k.a. Section 8 program), is a federally funded program designed to help eligible low-income families secure decent, safe and sanitary housing. The Waukegan Housing Authority administers the program by providing vouchers that enable eligible families to seek out suitable housing in the private sector. In order to be eligible for participation in the Housing Choice Voucher program (a.k.a. Section 8 program) the head of household must be 18 years of age or legally emancipated and at least one family member must have legal residency status in the United States.

News & Information

Monthly Board of Commissioners Meeting

Pursuant To Executive Order 2020-07 Signed By Governor Pritzker And Guidance Provided By Legal Counsel, The Waukegan Housing Authority Will Conduct All or Part of these Meetings By Use Of Telephonic Or Electronic Means Without A Physical Quorum Present on our properties. Public Access to the Board of Commissioners meeting will be available via Zoom and will be posted in our office, properties and on our website.

Topic: Board Meeting
Time: Sep 21, 2022 05:30 PM Central Time (US and Canada)

Join Zoom Meeting


Meeting ID: 827 6662 8976
Passcode: 316045
Or Join By Phone
312-626-6799 US (Chicago)

The meetings are scheduled to begin no earlier than 5:30 p.m. or as soon as a quorum of Commissioners is present. Exceptions noted by asterisk (*).

July 20, 2022* No Scheduled Meeting
August 17, 2022* No Scheduled Meeting
September 21, 2022
October 19, 2022
November 16, 2022
December 2022 TBA

Read more