About Us

The Waukegan Housing Authority (hereinafter, “HA”) is a public entity that was formed in 1949 to provide federally subsidized housing and housing assistance to low-income families, within Waukegan Illinois.

The HA is headed by an Executive Director/CEO and is governed by a five-person board of commissioners and is subject to the requirements of Title 24 of the Code of Federal Regulations (hereinafter, “CFR”) and the HA’s procurement policy. Though brought into existence by a Resolution and it is a separate entity from the City of Waukegan.

Currently, the HA owns and/or manages: (a) 3 multi-family apartment complexes totaling 325 units; (b) 1 senior complex, totaling 98 units; (c) 25 single-family homes throughout the city of Waukegan. The HA currently has approximately 25 employees.


The Waukegan Housing Authority provides administrative and maintenance support to 448 conventional Public Housing units in four (4) developments on thirty-one (31) sites throughout the Waukegan area:

Development Number(AMP) / Name / Location

  • IL26-1 Barwell Manor Homes
    565 – 595 S. Genesee Street
    565 – 595 S. Martin Luther King Jr. Avenue
    Waukegan, IL 60085

120 mixed population units in three sites located 500 and 600block of Genesee and Martin Luther King

  • IL26-2 Ravine Terrace
    200 S. Martin Luther King Jr. Avenue
    Waukegan, IL 60085

98 elderly units located at 200 S. Martin Luther King Jr. Avenue

  • IL26-3 Harry Poe Manor
    300 Lake Street
    Waukegan, IL 60085

155 efficiency/one bedroom units located at 300 Lake Street

  • IL26-6 Armory Terrace Homes
    1701 – 1719 N. Mc Aree Road
    Waukegan, IL 60085

50 family units located on the 1700 block of N. McAree Road